Acknowledging feelings

In recent days it was discovered that a beautiful young English teacher from Leeton, NSW had been murdered. I can’t begin to express the strange feelings that I have experienced since hearing this news. On more than one occasion I have wanted to write something on here, but always thought that my words would not do her justice.

The news of her passing has crushed me, but I haven’t understood why. That is until today.

This evening, I stumbled upon a blog post written by another Sydney school teacher named Bianca Hewes. What she stated in her blog about Stephanie ‘hit the nail on the head’ for me. Her post encompassed all that I have been thinking and feeling and because of that I am leaving a link to her beautiful tribute and expression of loss here:

https://biancahewes.wordpress.com/2015/04/11/words-about-a-teacher-i-never-knew/

I hope that you will read it, to understand my feelings as well. Stephanie – You will always be remembered for your dedication to your students. May I be as dedicated to mine… x

Leave a comment